Vision & Mission
Statement of Faith
Classical Education
Why the Classics?
The Trivium
Additional Resources
Board of Directors
Information Meetings

The Trivium

The core of classical education is the trivium, an enduring teaching method that tailors the curriculum to a child’s cognitive development. The trivium consists of three stages:

Grammar (through grade 6)

  • Emphasizes concrete thinking, memorization and learning the basic facts, or “grammar”, of subjects.

Dialectic (grades 7-9)

  • Trains students how to use the facts they have learned, develops analytical thinking and channels the natural desire of children at this age to engage in disputation.

Rhetoric (grades 10-12)

  • Teaches students to think correctly and sharpens speech and writing skills. Information from the preceding stages are integrated with more advanced study.

Comments are closed.